Hannah G. Solomon Award Recipients

This award is given annually to a community leader who exemplifies the qualities of Hannah G. Solomon, founder of the National Council of Jewish Women. Recipients selected are known for their interest, activity and stand on issues with which NCJW is in sympathy. They have brought about important community programs and services through their leadership in a volunteer capacity and each has been a catalyst for social change.

1966 *Miss Rena Wilson
1967 *Margery Stich (Mrs Charles)
1968 Mrs Myra Soboloff
1969 Thomas Godchaux
1970 *Olga Jackson
1971 *Edith Rosenwald Stern (Mrs Edgar)
1972 *Helen Mervis (Mrs Leo M.)
1973 *Miss Sarah Davis
1974 *Edith Schulhofer
1975 Jane K. Buchsbaum (Mrs William)
1976 Millie McClendon Charles
1977 Sara Stone (Mrs Saul)
1978 Flo Schornstein (Mrs Richard, Jr)
1979 Rosalie Cohen (Mrs Joseph)
1981 *Roy Schwarz
1982 *Barbara Lemann (Mrs Thomas)
1983 *Rosa F. Keller (Mrs Charles)
1984 *Mike Brenner
1985 Norma Freiberg (Mrs John)
1986 Sunny Norman (Mrs P. Roussel)
1987 The Honorable Joan B. Armstrong
1988 Elizabeth Rack (Mrs A. H.)
1989 The Honorable Miriam Waltzer
1990 Diana Lewis (Mrs Thomas)
1991 *Grace Hudson (Mrs Jack)
1992 *Donald Mintz
1993 Sybil Morial (Mrs)
1994 Julanne Isaacson (Mrs Irwin)
1995 Pres Kabacoff
1996 *Dr Robert and  ShirleyHaspel
1997 Harry Blumenthal, Jr
1998 Eddy Rosen (Mrs William)
1999 Hugo Kahn
2000 *Roger and Marjorie Bissinger
2001 Barbara Herman 
2002 Madalyn Schenk (Mrs Robert)
2003 *Babs Isaacson (Mrs J. E.)
2004  *Moise and *Melba Steeg
2005 *Betty Wisdom
2006 *Inge Elsas (Mrs Henry)
2007 Carol Good (Mrs Louis,Jr)
2008 Phyllis M. Taylor (Mrs. Patrick)
2009 Carol Wise
2010 Nancy Marsiglia
2011 Joan S. Berenson (Mrs. Gerald)
2012 Mary Keller Zervigon
2013 Ruth S. Kullman
2014 Scott and Marjorie Cowen
2015 Julie Schwam Harris
2016  Ana and Dr. Juan Gershanik
2017  Kim Sport

Harold Salmon Award Recipients

The Harold Salmon Sr. Award is named for a man who recognized the value of volunteerism, was strongly committed to the welfare of NCJW, and for many years served as a willing and able advisor to our fund-raising efforts. This award is presented to an NCJW member who has exhibited continued commitment to NCJW; who by being available time-wise, innovative and motivated, and who by working well with people and resources has proven an overall awareness of NCJW.

1979  *Margery Stich 
1980  Sue Robin Weinhauer 
1981  *Inge Elsas 
1982  Celia Katz 
1983  Sara Stone 
1984  Gail Rubin 
1985  Barbara Herman 
1986  *Babette Isaacson 
1987  Julanne Isaacson 
1989  Eddy Rosen 
1990  Barbara Bresler 
1991  Joan Berenson 
1992  Cynthia Farber 
1993  Carol Good 
1995  Vicki Lazarus 
1996  Beth Hershberg
1997  Dana Shepard 
1998 *Aida Johnson 
2004  Kathy Shepard 
2006  Loel Weil Samuel 
2008  Sue Singer 
2010  Patricia Kirschman 
2011  Shellye Farber
2012  Ina Weber Davis 

Emerging Leadership Award Recipients

The Emerging Leadership Award was begun at the NCJW national level for each Section to pay tribute to a member new to the NCJW scene who shows great promise for future leadership.

1989 Mimi Schlesinger 
1991 Linda Warshauer 
1993 Debbie Newman 
         Gale Pick 
1995 Pam Cantor 
         Eve Herman 
1999 Pamela Lyles 
2008 Michal Fishman
2011 Michelle Erenberg

President’s Award

The President’s Award is a special award given at the discretion of the Section President who feels that a particular person(s) have gone over and above the call of duty, and have been an invaluable asset to the Section.

1981 *Rose Lang 
1983 JoAnn Kostik 
1989 Carol Good 
1996 *Aida Johnson 
1997 Sue Singer 
2003 Jeanne Smolkin 
2004 *Nettie Thompson
         Eve Herman 
2007 Phyllis Nitzkin 
2010  Susan Hess 
2015  Loel Weil Samuel
2016  Madalyn Schenk

Those Who Dared to Care...About Kids

Recognition of members of our community who went above and beyond in their tireless work for children.

Karin Giger Eustis and Cathy Pierson
Ursula and D. J. Markey
Dr. George and Sylvia Sterne
Theodore A. Quant
Judy Watts

Roland Doucette
Pearlie Elloie
Campbell Hutchinson and Allison Stewart
Monica Ponoroff
Joan Hertzberg Wightkin

Cathy Harris
Sally Ann Roberts
Nancy Marsiglia
Pat Schindler
Ty Tracy in Memoriam
David Utter
Plater Robinson

Dr. Gerald Berenson
Shirley Trusty Corey
Anita Gilford
Dr. Tony Recasner
Dr. Charles Zeanah